Some people argue that keeping pets is beneficial for longevity while others believe that household animals are not healthy for people to have as companions.

People around the world have had pets for millennia. Millions of people either buy or adopt household animals such as dogs, cats and birds to keep them company. Some believe this is good practice to live longer lives; however, others argue that having pets at home is unhealthy. Although pets can be a health hazard because they cause disease and are dirty, the benefits of owing pets for a long happy life is more such as companionship and activity. Certainly, having pets in the home can bring illness to owners and people. Unfortunately, animals do not have the same level of cleanliness as humans, so dogs and cats attract dirt into the home and often carry pathogens such as bacteria, parasites and virus. To cite an example, my niece got terribly ill with tape worms after playing with my dogs last year. Nevertheless, paying attention to keeping pets clean can greatly reduce these health hazards. On the other hand, pets have some very beneficial influences on their owners such as keeping them company and active. Senior people especially, who have lost many of their friends and loved ones, keep dogs and cats to avoid being lonely. Also, their pets, specifically dogs, require them to stay fit by needing to go for regular walks each day. My grandfather lived until the ripe age of 95. For the last 15 years of his life, he owned a German shepherd, Sparky, and I truly believe that this helped much for my grandpa’s health and positive attitude. In conclusion, pets allow people to experience their social nature but can also be dangerous for health. Although I believe there is some truth to the latter, I support the former because I saw my grandpa live a long, happy life with Sparky. Having a pet at home is great, as long as we keep them clean and healthy they can do the same in turn.