Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to recruit younger people instead of the elderly.

Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to recruit younger people instead of the elderly. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Employers in many industries today are discouraged from recruiting employees according to their ages. However, I believe that age should be taken into consideration when employing potential employees as the elderly appear to be a better fit for a company for the reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraphs. There are several advantages of providing old workers with responsible jobs, such as managing important projects or leading the team. First off, they are mostly experienced ones who often deserve respect to follow in their footsteps. Because of their job and life experience, managing the team cannot be difficult for them at all, since they know the way of communicating with their coworkers and how to share ideas and knowledge without offending them. It is also generally believed that the team of younger workers led by seniors seem to gain more pragmatic and hands-on experience. On top of that, older workers are more likely to show up for work on time and this may encourage the team to keep punctual and responsible, which are among the most important work ethics that can increase job productivity. As regards other more important qualities, older people in the workplace appear to show more signs of loyalty and are less likely to switch their job as younger colleagues do frequently. As a result of such frequent turnovers, for example, companies can spend extra money on recruiting new employees, as they have to pay for adverts or headhunters to find suitable ones for their company. Besides, older people are less likely to take days off, especially sick leave. Studies have also shown that young workers have often called in sick as compared to senior coworkers. Therefore, younger counterparts can be less flexible and punctual at the workplace that make the elderly remain at the forefront of competition among the job applicants of all ages most of the time. In conclusion, recruiting younger people in place of senior ones may not be a wise option for companies or industries at all times. Logically, older workers are far more superior than the young in terms of their experience, wisdom and loyalty to the company they have been working for.