Many places in the world depend on tourism to bring money to their area. There are both benefits and drawbacks to this situation.

Many people greet tourism with open arms because of the boost it gives to the local economy. Tourism means that restaurants and hotels, stores and roads will be built. There will be new opportunities for business owners and new jobs in construction and services for the local population. Money flowing into an area may look like a good thing, but there is another side to the story. Many places have a tourist season. That means there are a lot of jobs part of the year and then nothing for the rest of the year. So, employment is only for part of the time. People may earn a lot during the tourist season, but since this money has to last them for the rest of the year, it really is not very much. In addition, all the new businesses and structures that are created in a tourist area do not necessarily benefit the local residents. Prices are almost always higher in a tourist area. Tourists may be able to shop in the stores and eat at the restaurants, but most of the local residents probably cannot afford it. Tourists enjoy leisure activities such as golf, tennis or horseback riding, while local residents work hard to earn as much money as they can during the tourist season. In conclusion, tourism brings in money, but it is not always as good as it looks, as it cannot be relied upon as a constant source of income and as not everybody benefits from it.