sharing information or hiding it

It is often considered that knowledge should be available for everyone and easily accessible for anyone. However, some people believe that should not be the case and information should be treated like assets. This essay will be comparing the advantages and disadvantages of both views. First, sharing the knowledge in fields like science could lead to faster and better results. For instance, making researches from a company that studied a disease available for other researchers can have positive effects in going further from where the company stopped, or even discovering new information about the subject studied. Hence, in my opinion is the best choice if humanity wants to quickly progress. Second, publishing information could be harmful in some fields like businesses. For example, sharing a successful company's business model will have a nigative impact on firm, because other business will copy their model and start catching up. In conclusion, weather we share information or not it will have both good effects and side effects, but is it really comparable?