It is true that the number of young offenders is increasing in the vast majority of countries. While certain factors like poverty can be the culprits of this development, there are steps to be taken to address this issue.

There are several factors that influence youngsters making them commit crimes. Firstly, poverty can be considered as the main culprit since the prevalence of criminal actions among poor people is notably high as they struggle to meet their daily needs. Secondly, violent video games and movies that include robbery or murder may increase the susceptibility of an individual to real-life criminal actions. In fact, people who engage with this sort of entertainment tend to hurt people with ease and may also struggle with distinguishing right from wrong. Finally, friends have a great influence on a person’s behavior and people feel more relaxed while breaching when they see people close to them doing the same actions. However, several measures can be taken to reduce the crime rates among young people. Firstly, government should financially help impoverished families thereby creating a win-win situation. Secondly, the government should put restrictions, such as age limits, to watching violent movies or playing games of this sort for children which can mitigate detrimental effects. Finally, parents should be strict and keep track of their children’s behavior and friends they hang out with from the early childhood as those early years will have significant impact on person’s future life. Therefore, government together with adults has a key role in reducing the crime rates among young people. In conclusion, crime rates which are increasingly prevalent among young people is caused by several factors, with poverty being the most pronounced, and can be solved if necessary measures are taken.