Some people argue that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Therefore, only government and large companies can make a difference. with this?

Some people are of the view that the ordinary person can not do much to make the environment better, so the onus lies with the government and big companies to make a positive impact on the environment. Despite the fact that the state and companies have the responsibility to formulate environmental friendly policies, in my opinion, it is the specific individuals who can make the greatest change if they use more energy efficient gadgets and change their attitude towards waste disposal. People in the developing world have the tendency of flouting government laws that ban the importation and use of high energy consuming fridges and air conditioners. If the individuals purchase new and low energy consuming appliances, the rate of electricity use and the emission of greenhouse gases is reduced. This will lead to an improvement in global warming. Animals and other species that live in the North and south poles are threatened with habitat destruction due to the activities of individuals who use old gadgets that worsens global warming. Besides this, individuals can do better with regards to the environment by changing their bad attitude towards waste disposal. In certain parts of the world, it is people's culture to dispose waste anywhere they deem fit. Which sometimes is the drains infrastructure of their houses or even on the beach. This behaviour comes with serious consequences because choked drainage systems can result in flooding when there is a heavy downpour. Also, dumping refuse at the beach could kill sea mammals when their habitat is polluted with waste. Looking at Accra, the capital city of Ghana, perennial flooding has become the norm which causes people to loose their homes and livelihood every year which is partly due to indiscriminate waste disposal. Eventhough, the government has provided households with waste bins, residents still dump refuse outside because they are reluctant to pay for waste collection without a care about the resulting consequences. In conclusion, governments and companies owe a duty to the citizenry and the areas they operate to ensure rules are set up to protect the environment, however, it would be far better if individuals behave well.