Some People Argue That Holding Sporting Events Is Beneficial To A Country’s Development

While there are people who believe that hosting international sporting events brings economic prosperity, others believe that the benefits are insignificant. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I think hosting international gaming events foster a nation’s growth. On the one hand, many people believe that it is useless to spend millions or billions of dollars on hosting a major sporting event. Such events might lead to an influx of tourists but there is no guarantee that they will return or benefit the tourism industry in future. Also, huge capital investment is required for hosting international events. For example, stadiums need to be built and roads and highways have to be repaired and widened. It is also important to spend a lot of money to give a face lift to the host city just to impress the visitors. While infrastructure development is usually beneficial, sometimes these stadiums will remain idle once the events are over and this leads to huge loss of resources. Hosting a major event also makes a city vulnerable to threats like terrorist attacks and to counter them, security has to be beefed up. In other words, hosting an international sporting event is an expensive business. On the other hand, in my opinion, every penny spent on such events is a wise investment. Such events generate a lot of jobs in the short term. They are also an opportunity to boost a nation’s image. If the event is organized meticulously, it will not only enhance the reputation of the country but also make it an attractive investment destination of foreign investors. Such events also give nations an opportunity to promote their tourist destinations. If tourists who came to watch the events leave happy, they are more likely to return. They will also act as goodwill ambassadors bringing in more visitors in future. Obviously, if these events are staged properly, they lead to the economic development of the country both in the short term and long term. In conclusion, while it is true that holding an international event is an expensive affair, in my opinion, they do lead to economic prosperity and enhance the reputation of a country if they are organized properly.