Some people argue that higher taxes should be collected from industries causing higher industrial pollution, whereas others argue that there are better ways to deal with it.

In today’s industrialized world where environmental pollution caused by industries have reached unprecedented levels. To encounter this, certain section of the society recommends imposing higher corporate taxes. Whereas, others have contrasting views, of imposing threshold pollution levels irrespective of taxes. In my opinion, imposing additional taxes is a good option. However, for optimum results, a combination of both stricter policies alongside higher taxes must be imposed. Firstly, tax revenues generated from industries can be better utilized by governments on repairing the damages made to the environment. Furthermore, money from taxes can be utilized in research activities, with an aim of reducing pollution. Secondly, as a result of mandating higher taxation policies, companies shall strive to improvise the production processes, with an aim of reducing the pollution. Consequently, pollution would be drastically reduced at first place. For instance, Coal India which is India’s largest producer of coal, has successfully re-engineered the coal production process, as a result of strict financial repercussions from government. On the other hand, simple step of imposing higher taxes is not an optimum solution, as in current competitive world, companies can exploit this policy by multiplying the production without considering the environmental damages, as long as they are capable of paying increased tax rates. This trend would have devastating results in longer run. For instance, plastic products are known to be biggest destructor of ecosystem, at the same time it highly lucrative business. Therefore, allowing plastic producers to produce plastic without restrictions can lead to serious environmental destructions. To conclude, even though collecting higher taxes on environmental grounds is a good option. However, a maximum threshold of allowed pollution must be imposed on industries. More importantly, such a fine balance between tax and threshold would allow governments to come up with solutions to fight back the calculated the expected threshold level of pollution.