Some people argue that companies and private individuals, rather than government, should pay the bill of pollution.

Pollution has become the most problematic issue that draws attention from worldwide. Few people opine that businesses and individuals should pay for the bill of pollution rather than the governments. I disagree with the given statement and my supporting views are outlined in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, it may not be possible to say who is to blame. It would be very difficult to pin point the extent to which each one has to pay for pollution. Such businesses will find loopholes to avoid heavy bills. Therefore, the government should take the onus of handling the pollution costs. Secondly, the big companies may be unwilling to accept the responsibility of paying the additional bill of pollution by saying that they are already paying heavy taxes to the government. They could also argue that they are assisting the governments indirectly by aiding many charity organization. What is more, in places where governments have tried this policy and successfully prosecuted the companies who violated the law, it took years to get the result. Therefore, it would be very unpractical to make companies and individuals to pay the bill of pollution. The governments could, however, make it mandatory for companies to set up effluent treatment plants and subsidize them greatly so as to increase compliance of the companies to set them up. To conclude, pollution is a serious and the government should not leave it to the individual and companies to pay its bill. Whereas, it can make it mandatory for the companies to set up effluent treatment plants so that pollution is minimized.