Describe your (or your friend's) illness or injury experience

I would like to talk about a car accident that happened to me a few years ago and resulted in serious injuries. . . It was a horrible experience that I would not want to relive. . . my family was driving home, when a big truck crashed into our passenger car. After the accident I blacked out and was transported to the hospital. When I regained consciousness, I discovered that I had five broked bones, several ruptures and many cuts and bruises. To restore the collarbone and leg bone, I had to go through operations, during which metal rods were put onto these bones to fix them. . . Not surprisingly, I was in a severe pain, so physicians prescribed me to take painkillers and other medicines for a couple of weeks. During my recovery, I wasn't able to walk properly and my life then was very difficult. But after several months of proper treatment and physical therapy I fully recovered. . . I even took up karate soon after! Although the illness was definitely not a pleasant experience, I am very happy and grateful that now I am healthy. . . Probably, I leaned to value health and became stronger.