In the past many employees worked for small businesses, but now many employees work for very large businesses. Does working for a very large business have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Previously, most staff members used to be employed by smaller companies, whereas now, more and more employees are attracted to big establishments. Although there are demerits to this development, I believe its merits have more effective roles to play. Admittedly, large companies have some downsides for their employees. The first one is that there is less creativity and freedom in these work environments. This is because the bigger an organization is, the less open it is to change and the fewer risks they take so as to preserve their stability. These inflexibilities reduce the sense of freedom for staff and seem overbearing to them. Large establishments also provide a more difficult situation to grow for their workers as not only, as mentioned before, is there less freedom, but competition is quite stiff. The resulting difficulty to have achievements as well as staff rivalry could make it arduous for the staff to get ahead and promoted. On the positive side, however, those who work for prominent companies benefit from a wider variety of perks including supplementary insurance, on-site gyms, food supplies, not to mention childcare services. The reason why these companies manage to provide such benefits is thanks to their numerous connections and available resources. Microsoft is a great example of such establishments in which employees do not even worry about having a child since, apart from conventional perks, childcare facilities are also provided free. Job stability is another pro of big organizations. This means that they have far fewer layoffs than smaller companies and employees are not afraid of their workplace disappearing overnight courtesy of the fact that they are considerably more able to survive poor economic conditions by easily getting loans from banks or selling stocks. The direct implication of this is peace of mind for workers. Despite the drawbacks, working for large organizations is a strategic move that employees are recommended to take. As long as companies become more willing to take more calculated risks and open the space for their many staff members to grow, this policy will be even more desirable for job seekers.