Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages

Since smog generation and fast moving automobile started to clog roadways, citizens around the world have come together of the view to take their streets back by prohibiting private cars on the roads once every month. Urban municipalities have pondered how to balance safety with speed, air quality with convenience. I believe that this move has both negative and positive aspects. To begin with, if we consider the worst scenario this reform might cause is ineffective commuting. The public transport system will be under much pressure of handling a large number of passengers on a particular day. For example, in a survey, it was found that in Dublin there was a rise of 9% in passenger levels. This became burdensome on the authorities to manage such a huge crowd. Also, not every commuters convenience and comfort can be effectively met by the existing public transport. For instance, an American report reveals that the locals can’t afford to use the local transit because of their long-term love affair with their cars. Another possible drawback could be the infrequent services between the destinations, if the officials offer any. Despite the few setbacks, this initiative has the biggest advantage of eco-friendly environment. If all the private automobiles around the world follow this golden rule, this will act as a rejuvenating day for the nature. The bad air concentration would dip by at least a percentage, helping in curbing the greenhouse gas emission. Following, the cities would have lesser noise level on that day. Like, Paris and India followed the rule of even-odd policy to fight against air and noise pollution. An added benefit is that it will reduce the average fossil fuel consumption, which is recommended for the future generation. Following the policy of care-free days by every nation once a month, would have a healing impact on our environment by reducing not only the pollution but also combating the emission of more gases that affect the ozone layer. This could be considered as the rest day of their personal vehicles and a new way of starting a much more healthy life. In conclusion, implementing a new transport reform like a one day ban on personal owned vehicles on roads still evokes mixed responses from the public despite the fact that merits outweigh the demerits.