One good way to promote world peace is through international sporting events. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the expansion of terrorism and hatred worldwide, it is often believed that events such as global athletic events will help to foster the harmony in the world. I agree with the statement. In this essay, I will explain how these global games have paved the way to building world symmetry by inculcating the spirit of oneness and strengthening the sport political tie-ups. To begin with, universal games such as Olympics, Commonwealth, Paralympics promotes peaceful international relations among diverse peoples. It infuses the feeling of universal brotherhood and a sense of unity. To exemplify, all athletes, irrespective of any nationality, caste, religion or race, participating in the international competitions have the same enthusiasm of winning the game for their country. Moreover, these athletic events provide a sense of common emotions of either happiness or sadness that unite the spectators. For instance, we often see that crowd together cheers and support their favorite teams or stars during the game. Another way to maintain global peace is to nourish the international political system by means of sport politics mechanism. This helps in strengthening the diplomatic relations among different nations fostering growth and tranquility. Individual nations are placing sport as a main pillar in their foreign policy to maximize their trade and investment opportunities and build linkages with other nations. Moreover, these worldwide level sports acts as an icebreaker between the two nations and helps in creating a lasting dialogue and better cultural understanding. For example, during 2018 Winter Olympics in South Korea, the participation of North Korea in the games saw a new beginning of their friendship. To conclude, I am of the opinion that these global sports meet, possess the characteristic of brotherhood, unification and increased mutual understanding among nations by easing the conflicts, thereby promoting peace globally.