Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

It is often argued that there should be implementation of no private vehicles once every month keeping in consideration the increasing environmental polution and imbalance in the ecosystem because of the advancement in automobiles. This essay will discus both the merits and demerits of the proposed system. To commence with, it is inevitable fact that conservation of resources is the need of the hour. Also, we must ensure on the sustainable ways of development. Introducing car-free day will surely have multifarious effects on the mother nature, as it will encourage people to take public transportation for commuting and hence will reduce the vehicular pollution and emission of harmful gases as well. This scheme will also promote the concept of cab-pooling. It has been observed that the air quality across Delhi and NCR region was better when a mock drill for car-free day was observed, furthermore the Visibility level improved and rose to 95 units. On the contrary, talking about the de-merits, few people are worried because they have to change their timings to match them up with the schedule of the public transportation in their respective areas. Also, plethora of people find it more comfortable travelling by their own cars rather than the public buses. Moreover, as the public transports have multiple stops and haults in their assigned routes, this led to the delayed arrival to their workplaces. For instance, the employees reached their destination an hour late due to the traffic on the car free mock-drill day. To encapsulate, it can be conculded that we all must come forward to reduce the harmful carbon emission from automobiles by taking public convenience to travel, whereas some people face the drawback of public transportation.