Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

The increasing number of private vehicles on the roads is a real challenge to the respective administrations. In such a situation, some recommend prohibiting private cars on the roads once every month. I feel this move has both positive and negative aspects. One of the major advantages of this move is that it is an eco-friendly initiative. If all private automobiles are away from the roads across the world on a particular day in a month it definitely acts as ‘a rejuvenating day’ for the nature. The bad air concentration would dip at least by a percentage. Likewise, the cities would have lesser noise level on that day. Another advantage is that it reduces the average fossil fuel consumption, which is to be recommended for the benefit of the future generations. The vehicle owners can do the maintenance of their cars on that particular day, and this could be seen as an added advantage. The worst issue that this reform might cause is ineffective commuting. The public transport system would not be able to tackle the problem of a huge number of passengers on a particular day. If arrangements are made for that single day, authorities would suffer huge economic loss as they would hardly find enough number of passengers for the rest of the month. Similarly, the passenger convenience and comfort cannot be effectively met by the existing public transport system. Different commuters have diverse purposes to travel and it will be to multiple destinations. Transport authorities can run their services to only popular destinations and not to remote areas. Infrequent services between destinations would be another issue, if they operate any. In conclusion, implementing a new transport reform like a one day ban on private vehicles on roads still evokes mixed responses from the public as it has both merits and demerits.