Some people are making new friends by using socializing network websites and internetchat rooms. Some people say that this is a good thing. Other people say that peopleshould make new friends by face-to-face chat. Discuss these views and give your ownopin

Some individuals are of the opinion that it is good to make friends online on various social networking sites and internet chat rooms. However, others are in favour of making friends by direct face to face chat. This essay intends to look at both perspectives. I personally side with the latter view. On the one hand, social network sites like ‘Facebook’ provide a great opportunity for people to socialize with one another and find common ground, before even meeting. Online social groups have become fundamental building blocks of modern human societies. They have a beneficial effect on our way of life. They increase our social interaction and give us more ways to make social connections. Earlier our social interactions were constrained by national boundaries, but now the Internet has turned communication into a global phenomenon. Today, our network of friends stretches across the globe. On the other hand, making friends through direct contact is definitely better as social media sites can cause more harm than good. People can make fake IDs and cheat anyone. Every now and then we hear stories how girls and boys were cheated through such sites and after months of friendship, the original identity of the person turned out to be very different. Cyber criminals can hack the IDs of people and chat on their behalf which may cause huge misunderstandings. Furthermore, face to face friendship is better because it is a friendship which has a deeper bond than online friendship. Man is after all a social animal and friends are meant to be there when you need them the most. Online friends cannot be with you when you are sick and you need a friend’s touch. Face to face friends are with you in thick and thin and this can never be possible with online friends. To sum up, even though the growing majority of the world’s population abides by the social meme: “I love my computer, because my friends live in it”, I still reiterate my opinion that face to face friendships are stronger and longer-lasting.