Some people ague that teaching of healthy eating habits should be responsibility of teachers. Discuss this view and give your opinion

It is argued that teachers are best tutors in educating school children about healthy eating habits. This essay opposes the view point that it is the teacher's responsibility to teach children healthy eating habits. It will discuss why teachers cannot be given responsibility of the child's health eating plan, before highlighting why some may support this view. To begin with, children spent most their time in school in a constructive way, a teacher can employ interesting ways to teach children such as, visual pictures and vivid pictures which make long lasting effect on the learner's brain. However, this point is flawed in that teacher responsibility comes at a later stage of the child's life, when the child is already introduced to balanced meals by their parents. For example, in school in their early grades, infants are taught the difference between body building foods and junk food. On the other hand, healthy eating begin from the birth, when a baby is to survive on breast-milk only for the first six months. Breastfeeding is essential for babies as this provides them with vitamins, proteins and fat so that the baby grows healthy and strong. At the time, when the baby is school ready they would have been trained to have the healthy eating habits already, in school they will further the knowledge of eating healthy. For instance, in school they learn about the nutritional benefits of having a seven color balanced meal which includes vitamins, protein, fats and carbohydrates. To conclude, it can be noted that the first teacher is the parent and teacher responsibility comes when the child is enrolled in school.