Some people agree that children should ask for parent's advice. Some Disagree.

Children need guidance of their parents but do they necessarily always look for advice from them? There is a varying opinion on this subject matter and this essay will discuss the issue from both sides. First of all, parents are the first teachers for the children and the most reliable ones. Moreover, they are selfless in the guidance they provide to their children. This often tempts children to approach them for their useful advice in a wide range of situations - from the simplest of act they perform to the most critical decisions they need to make in their life later. For instance, its common for children to ask their mother to advise them on what dress they should wear while going to a friend' s birthday party and to ask suggestions from their father on what major to study at college. Constant tutelage from the parents make young people feel safe about their choices, even though they might be circumspect at times. In contrary, there are some teenagers who are more daring and confident about themselves. This often makes them believe that the guidance from parents make them timid and limit their capabilities. These kinds of adolescents might go on to mature rather quickly and become self-dependent. Even recent studies suggest that young children who are disciplined but make right choices for themselves achieve greater success in life as it allows them to develop sophisticated social skills as well as problem solving ability in all situations. Personally, I believe parents should not become overprotective and require their children to ask them for advice on all little things they do in life. Every child is born unique and by doing certain activities his own way, he is more likely to explore his inborn qualities. Also, if a child seems to take a liking for a particular sports or genre of music, he should feel free to enjoy it because after all what music or game someone plays should be entirely his own decision. For example, a boy who has a natural talent for basketball might end up playing cricket if his father thinks it is better for him to carry on the family tradition. There are certain areas indeed where it' s not worth asking for intervention. In conclusion, children who are more likely to comply with what their parents suggest them to do make them feel good about the trust in their endorsement. on the other hand, there are others who feel making choices independently enable them to become unique and reach their true potential. Taking an advice from the parents but not feeling obliged to comply with each of them probably is a compromise that can encourage him from making mature but less vulnerable decisions.