Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Since the inception of the judicial system in America, Capital punishment has been a contentious topic among human rights activists and law enforcement gurus. It is a debate that is often marred by sentimentally charged arguments. But as an objective thinker, I support instituting the death penalty for violent crimes. First, considering capital punishments critically - there is a prevailing belief that the death penalty is harsh and cruel. Some advocates repudiate such punishment on humanitarian grounds. In recent years, there is a growing momentum amongst liberal states that view the cost of executing criminals as a liability on the taxpayers. On the flip side, it is hard to ignore the contrast between countries that enforce capital punishments versus those that don’t. Statistically, countries that enforced the death penalty reported a marked reduction in violent crimes like murder, rape, acts of terrorism, and human trafficking. In an example close to home, a recent Federal Bureau of Investigation study evaluating gun violence incidents in the past ten years in America revealed that over 12% of perpetrators were convicted violent criminals set free on bail, or released from jail after pursuing short prison sentences. These examples highlight the need for and efficacy of capital punishment. A fundamental pillar of an efficient democracy and successful governance is the protection and safety of its people. Thus, upon holistic consideration, any punishment must be measured against the degree of crime in reference and heinous crimes must be reciprocated with corrective actions like the death penalty to deter criminals from taking such actions in the future.