For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list.

The conventional educational approach gives emphasis on subjects such as mathematics, reading and writing. However, owing to the recent transitions, some people believe that knowledge of computers should be a crucial add-on to this list. I completely agree with this idea and this essay will put forward the points to support this argument. First and foremost, computers have overtaken in every professional field these days. Hence, basic knowledge about computer science can help an individuals grow. Consequently, it also increases the probability of finding a job as every employer expect their employees to know how to operate a computer. A recent research found that, a person who is familiar with information technology skills holds a higher chance of bagging a particular job in a multinational company by 56% than the person who is alien to this area. Secondly, as we are surrounded by digital technologies today, and if we do not know how to operate these devices, we might feel left out in the society. For instance, unlike older days when distinct communication was feasible only via letters, emails have replaced this trend and therefore replies are instant. If a person does not know how to write e-mails, he would not be able to contact anyone in click of a button. In conclusion, some people are suggesting to add computers as a mandatory subject in the contemporary education system and I completely agree to it as it can help anyone to get better job opportunities and communicate better with people.