Some parents say that children should play individually more than in a group. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is seen that most of the parents motivate their children to participate in individual sports rather than in a group. It’s fruitful effects are related to developing cognitive and concentration skills; however, it has its negative effects in terms of less leadership skills and less ability of teamwork. Most parents prefer their children to build intellectual skills by playing solely than in a group. Since their offspring play games, such as puzzles, problem-solving and building blocks, with their own knowledge, it helps them to become more creative in work; thereby, leading to more chances of new innovation. Moreover, the level of concentration increases in the individual play. As compared to playing in a group, there is less distraction from others and more focus on work in a solo game; therefore, it enhances the ability of children to work for longer time. For instance, had my friend never played with his friends in childhood, would have he scored higher in the final year. Contrarily, children face lack of leadership skills in the future in the event of not playing in a group. Although individuality helps them to overcome their weaknesses, they do not learn to lead other players by giving instructions which is only possible in the case of team play. Consequently, children would have less confident to speak in front of the crowd. Besides less leadership skills, the ability of teamwork does not develop in Solo play. This is because in a group, children try to win the game by cooperating and coordinating, whereas this lacks in individual games and there is no healthy relations with their friends can be formed. In conclusion, this essay has covered two aspects: benefits of individual play which includes increase in not only mental ability for reasoning but also to focus on tasks; its drawbacks consisting of lower leadership skill as well as lack of teamwork.