Some parents encourage their high school students to get an after-school or weekend job. Other parents cite the importance of getting good grades, discouraging their high school students from getting after- school or weekend jobs. What is your opinion or viewpoint on this subject? Use specific supporting details from your own observations, experience, or reading as you write your response

There are differing viewpoints as to whether or not high school students should get an after-school or weekend job. Some parents want their high school-aged students to work part-time, while other parents prefer their students to only focus on getting good grades. In my opinion, working while attending high school can be beneficial because it provides the student with the essential skills that are needed for today’s job market. One of the essential skills is time management. Learning ways to balance activities and prioritize time is essential as an adult. Using time effectively requires life experiences. For instance, I learned to manage my time wisely when I worked a part-time job in high school time. The work experience I gained at that time was particularly helpful in my future life. If I did not work while attending high school, I wouldn’t have learned the time management skills used today: to balance graduate school, work, and social activities. Another benefit after school job is that high school students strengthen their interpersonal skills within the workplace. Although students have the opportunity to socialize in school with their peers, interactions in the workplace are entirely different. Working a part-time job can increase students’ opportunities to meet different people. As a result, students develop better interpersonal relationships and increase their success in school. Last but not least, these jobs will help students to develop a strong work ethic, and this attitude could apply to complete their academic works. Understanding the importance of hard work and being a responsible person are critical skills for an adult. Work ethic is an abstract concept, and it is an excellent asset for a competent person. Additionally, if students develop a positive work ethic, they will become more confident. Academic success largely depends on this type of confidence. The world has become more competitive. Having students gain work experiences at an early age will strengthen their abilities to compete in the job market after graduation. For example, students can learn to utilize their time better, improve their social skills, and become a valuable member of society.