I have written this essay in two versions - One for agree and one for disagree. The first essay is in favour of joint families and the second in favour of nuclear families.

The rising trend of nuclear families and its effect on today’s children has led to the question whether children should be raised in joint families in which aunts, uncles and grandparents contribute in bringing up children. Although a joint family is not without its drawbacks, I firmly believe that a joint family is better in raising children. A number of arguments surround my opinion. To begin with, in a joint family, children's upbringing becomes very easy as there are so many people to take care of the child. So being the mother or father, even if you are busy in life with work or any other commitments, you have no need to worry about your child as you know he/she will be taken care of, fed properly and even made sure that homework is completed. This is a huge relief especially in times of sickness of the child. So in a joint family, you can be totally focused as far as your career or work is concerned, without the tension of your children. Finally, a joint family teaches the values of adjusting and flexibility, which can go a long way in life when such children marry or when they have to live an independent life in a totally new or different environment, which unfortunately people brought up in a nuclear family with all comforts and less adjustments might find difficult. Children living in a joint family learn how to deal with people and understand the dynamics of human psychology, as they are staying with various people of different attitude, perception and behaviour. In the long run, it becomes easy to gauge and understand people and their emotions. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, in a joint family a child is reared by a number of people, thus dividing work and saving time. The child also learns qualities of understanding, adjusting, & selflessness. For working parents, it’s a blessing to have reliable, trustworthy caretakers for their child. Therefore it is better to raise a child in a joint family.