Some Parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Some parents pamper their kids by buying lots of toys for them. This practice has both advantages and disadvantages. The most common advantage being the happiness of the child, whereas the disadvantage is that the child becomes addicted to it. On the one hand, every parent wants to see a smile on the face of the baby whenever rewarded with a toy. This not only gives them an internal satisfaction, but will also make the toddler happy. So, in order to enjoy these moments, the guardians develop a habit of buying different things for their siblings. Moreover, it becomes a custom that whenever a family goes for shopping, they have to buy a new gadget for the satisfaction of the young one. So to say, all this leads to a huge collection of different items in the home. For example, according to a research conducted in the USA, average number of toys bought by an American teenager are about 25 per year. On the other hand, the children who have plenty of things to play get absorbed in them so much that they lose interest in their surroundings. Firstly, it will affect their mental growth and create behaviour issues. Furthermore, they become less interactive and get lost in their imaginative world. So to say, the physical and spiritual development is halted and ultimately he will not grow up as an effective member of the society. For instance, a study conducted in the department of paediatrics at the University Hospital Birmingham shows that there is a rising trend of attitude issues in the young generation due to increased availability of video games. To conclude, it's the duty of elders to decide the pros and cons of rewarding their son and daughter with toys, as it will ultimately have a direct impact on their well being.