Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe it should remain a fundamental subject whether or not it is used later in life.

Many parents think that arithmetic should not be studied in school since it is no longer useful. However, others claim that it should continue to be a basic course, regardless of its use later in the future. In my view, I believe that maths should remain a preliminary subject because it helps both children and adults in the management of money and time. This essay will explain the reasons with relevant examples On the one hand, many parents do not see the need for students to learn mathematics because of the advents of computers. According to these people, these technological gadgets have different complex programmes to help analyse and solve any king of arithmetic problem. Besides this, most companies rely on the use these devices rather than on human expertise of knowledge. For example, 80% of modern companies make use of computers to carry out all their analysis which is one hundred percent accurate. This therefore means that it is no longer necessary to study mathematics as technological appliances now efficiently solve any complex task or assignment. On the other hand, many still consider this course important and claim it should remain a preliminary one, because it teaches individuals, both money and time management and I am in support of this view. Nowadays, people spend money to buy things and it is because of the knowledge gained in this subject that enable them to accurately calculate the amount spent. Also, time management is another advantage of studying mathematics owing to the reason that it helps individual to plan their time effectively. For example, a person who is devoid of the understanding of maths will always have difficulties with keeping to time since they have no prior information about it. In conclusion, eventhough the issue of maths being a basic subject in a school's module is still debated, I am of the opinion that it should continue to be a fundamental course for all children, since it will be of great use in the aspect of managing both money and time in the future.