Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Formal dressing style is encouraged in some companies. However, others believe that quality is above all. In my opinion, both are equally important and this essay will elaborate my reasons. Firstly, Employees are the representative of their organization, thus looks will be the first thing how the organization is perceived by its clients before they acknowledge its work. For example, in a company such as IBM, the staff is required to dress formally because of its client nature. On the other hand, employers like Instagram and Google, do not regulate its dress code because their customer already knows who they are. Hence, smart dress code is more applicable to SMEs (Small Medium Enterprises) who are establishing their image to their prospective customers. Finally, work quality is crucial for all companies, regardless of its dress code. At the end of the day, delivering a good working output creates a better image for the company. Similar to the above example, IBM, Google or Instagram, has already established their quality of work. However, for SMEs, it becomes an important component of its image along with their dress code. To sum up, I agree with the idea of smart dress code, however quality is important as well. Thus, balancing between both ideas is the right way to create a strong corporate image. For some company, it may be advisable to regulate dress code, especially in the sales department, where engineers may not necessary to abide.