Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's society it is very common to see certain rules, such as neccessary job uniforms to complement the work ethic. Personally, I do believe that appearance should be highly valued at only certain companies. Firstly, limiting employees to wear certain type of clothing can seem as if it is limiting their freedom of expression. Many people feel the need to express themselves through what they wear and these types of boundaries may not be suitable for everyone. These types of limitations would most definitely not be suitable for certain jobs, such as artists or designers. People who make a living out of expressing themselves would endure much pain and suffering if they were told to wear uniforms. As far as the story goes for people who work at corporate jobs, I think there is some difference. Unlike artisans or designers, lawyers and judges are people who would most likely be seen in uniforms. Because of working in a public place that involves exposure to people it can be useful to look presentful. Some of the reasons for this is because it gives of a good first impression which can be crucial when working as a lawyer, for example. Appearance can say a lot about someone, especially if it is important to give it off very quickly. Other than that, dressing nicely can be very satisfying and can help aid in a person's confidence a lot, which can be directly correlated to how they express themselves through work. In conclusion, I believe that dressing nicely at a company can be very useful in some cases and should be practiced but not by every company since it should be connected to a person's job description.