Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Living in a world where technology is increasing rapidly and is dominating peoples' lives raises a lot of questions. Even though technology brings us a lot of benefits, in my opinion it can have more advantages than disadvantages. In the past century, technology has come a very long way. Companies that make electronic devices common in regular households have improved their technology quite a bit, making devices that have support for software. For example, smart home alarms, systems that are quite advanced and useful. Smart houses are very good for building up security in homes and providing a safer environment. In general, computer devices have developed as well, providing much better hardware with a faster software. Because of this, job opportunities in the development industry have gone very high. Even though technology can help in many ways, it also has an ability to be counterproductive. Many people fall into the trap of using it as a way to disconnect from reality and end up being addicted. Even though it is okay to disconnect some time, there should always be some balance. Gamers, or people who are programmers typically are the ones facing these problems, but it's not so uncommon with children as well. Many kids choose to spend their time more on the phone than playing with other kids. In conclusion, technology has come quite a long way in the past decade. Because of that, it is no surprise that there is a change in our society. Even though there are many advantages to using technology, we should try to be careful with it and always seek balance.