Some older people look forward to the time when they can retire from work. However when they do stop working they are less happy than they were expecting. Why might this be? What can be done about the problem?

There is a general opinion that retirement period is the best time to enjoy life without any stress or pressure. Owing to this, people await for their work term to complete. However, they lately realize that this phase comes with bigger problems. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons why this most awaited years are less enjoyed. Further, I will provide some ways to deal with this issue. Firstly, the major concern that comes after biding goodbye a career is boredom. To illustrate, consider how many kids are so excited about holidays, though when the season begins they get bored within the first few days. Similarly, people who have been working for years cannot deal with so much idle time. Additionally, seniors might also lose confidence doing nothing at staying home. Eventually, this period becomes a phase of degradation of mental peace and physical health. Sometimes, more problems might arise between spouses and other family members because of too much excess time. Foremost solution for this would be to keep oneself busy even after leaving job. Without a doubt, joining social clubs, interacting with people, providing services to the community would be among the top options. In addition, elders might also consider picking up a part time profession or a small scale business. However, this depends on the health, interests and financial status of the person. To summarize, it is natural to face unexpected issues due to the changes in lifestyle that retirement brings in. Definitely, this can be tackled by streamlining energy onto more productive activities. Moreover, this would give the retired seniors a sense of accomplishment and inner peace in their oldage.