The invention of the printing press in the 15th century changed the world by allowing more and more people to afford and access books and information. Today, however, books are becoming the latest victim of technology's move toward digital storage and accessibility. In fact, some people believe that the world will soon stop printing books and everything will be read off a screen. Do you agree that printed books will eventually disappear? Why or Why not?

Technology is changing the way we share information. Mass storage devices have replaced many media forms and have more capacity to store data than any amount of paper can. Whilst some believes this threatens the publishing industry, I do not believe books will suffer the same fate as other media, like Vinyl Recorder and photographs, because the painted word connects reader more to the text. In this essay the importance of printed books will be discussed. Unlike music and photography, both of which require the use of technology to capture a moment in time, writing began with plant pigaments and fingers. Cave dwellers painted on walls and later societies followed suit by painting their temples and tombs. The advent of pen, paper and priting press simply made written work more widespread and accessible. Even with today's publishing, done on a massive scale, most quality books are available in both electronics and paint editions. This is because most people still prefer to read books on paper rather than a screen, as can be evidenced by the number of printing copies sold throughout the world. This is not to say that technology isn't changing the industry. Sales of e-readers are steadily climbing, and pubmishing houses are increasingly offering older books in electronic editions. There are certainly benefits to this. such as not to having carry heavy books in one's bag to school or the cafe. However, recent surveys have shown that when one wants to settle into a chair and escape reality a bit, most opt to do so with a paper copy whose corners they can fold, whose pages they can flip, even whose smell adds flavor to the story. As such, books will always offer an escape not only the mind, but for the eyes and fingers as well. In conclusion, books will not likely face extinction as have their counterparts in other media. This is because books offer a nostalgic feeling and a sense of permanence.