Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

As the 21st century continues to unfold, an array of new technologies have arisen, most of which were previously out of the reach of people's comprehension. Computers and cell-phones are patently obvious examples that may cause some elderlies to experience difficulties while using them. Although there are specific root causes related to this problem, effective policies can be adopted to remedy the situation. There are two main reasons why the old more than others, struggle with keeping abreast of these state-of-the-art gadgets. First and foremost, people over the age of 50 or 60 are " technology immigrants". To illustrate, these days, children are born into a fast-changing technological world; they understand even from early ages how to work with these devices; therefore, they called "technology native". However, aged people have to acquire the knowledge and skill of using them, exactly like taking in a foreign language. Furthermore, they usually fail to receive sufficient instructions for use from people around, so it is easily perceivable why they prefer to live in an old-fashioned way. There are, however, some workable solutions to help the senescent how to cope with contemporary society. One step would be education; by planning training schemes, the older adults can be exposed to the technology, so as to learning the skill would be more convenient. By means of these educational courses, which could be a simple video clip, they can determine how user-friendly and effective these gadgets are. Another alternative could be designing specific applications and programs suited to elderlies in order to motivate them. To recapitulate, it is understandable that getting used to technological devices, barely conceivable a few decades ago, is not trouble-free; however, with the help of education and incentive programs, it is bound to be solvable.