Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, various types of advertisement have surrounded the modern people. However, some believe that a number of methods applied in commercials are not ethical nor acceptable. I totally agree with this argument and will elaborate on in the following paragraphs. One of the main reasons that I opine some advertisements are against ethics of modern societies is the fact that their producers tend to use women as tools for the sake promoting their goods or services. More specifically, female figures are increasingly being used in more sexual ways to attract the attention of more audience. For instance, a globally renowned brand might select a young girl as its promotion campaign’s face only due to her sheer physical beauty and attractiveness to allure more men or even women. As a result, they indirectly contribute to the notion of gender inequality and the idea that females should be defined and valued on the basis of their physical appearances. This is generally against the image of the modern, intelligent woman stereotype who is appreciated according to her mental capabilities. More importantly, with the emergence of cutting-edge technologies, advertisers tend to manipulate the reality to profit more. In other words, what is widely criticized about this sector is the way the change our perception of a commodity by advanced tools. For instance, with the help of Photoshop effects, they exaggerate the function of a special product, adding magical features to it. This is the case with many beauty products that remove any defects in a blink of an eye. Were advertisements not to adopt misleading methods to entice, many consumers would not choose these products by any means. In conclusion, I strongly believe that various marketing strategies prevalent in the advertisement market such as exploiting feminine figures and manipulation of the way things look like in real are not approved and fair.