Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer?

It is a fact that various types of movies are produced by film-makers. While some films are made for the purpose of light entertainment, others are produced to make their viewers think and predict. Out of the various genres of films, I personally like the serious one, and the following essay will discuss in details. To begin with, there are various genres of films produced these days, and each of them is made for different purposes. In the modern world, the demand for relaxing and fun movies is increasing, therefore many producers are creating drama comedy films, such as ‘Home Alone’ or ‘American Pie’, and others are making cartoon movies such ‘Shrek’ or ‘Kung Fu Panda’. Although some people might criticise that the quality of these films is average or below standard, but the main purpose of the producer is to refresh and entertain their viewers. On the other hand, some film producers are creating serious films. These films are designed to make their audiences think and give full attention to the plot of the films. If the viewers lose their concentration or got some distraction, they will found some difficulties in understanding the story. Movies that are classified into this genre are mystery, horror and war movies. Some examples of these films are ‘Sherlock Holmes’, ‘Enemy of the States’ or ‘The Games’. In conclusion, it is true that each movie is produced for different purposes. Some movies are produced for pure entertainment, while others are made for a specific purpose. I personally prefer serious films, since there are many things that you can get and learn from watching these films.