Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A cross-section of people believe nations spend too much funds in preparing individuals to compete on the global stage rather than expending such finances on facilities that the entire society can gain from. In my opinion, i totally agree with this statement, However competing on international sporting events is important. Global recognision is important in terms of sporting activities. When people train, engage and do well in international sporting events they win laurels for their country and also get accolades for thenselves, these brings joy to the people. However, training individuals and participating in every event should not be at the detriment of its citizens, there should be a balance between spending and preparing individuals for world competitions. For instance, In 2005, African tennis tournament, Mali prioritize sending a team instead of building a 1000 Killometres railway but they did not go past the first stage, On the other hand, government should provide better services to its people. As the saying goes health is wealth, when citizens don't have good hospitals, good roads and food to eat no one will be bothered in sporting activities let alone training. Another, drawback of traininig individuals for games is that they usually claim personal glory when they win and sometimes medals are theirs to keep. For example Aruna Kudri of Nigeria chess federation keeps all this trophies and the Nigeria government cannot lay claims to those medals despite spending a lot of money for his preparations. In conclusion, i believe training of individuals for global competition by government is good, but there should be a balance in spending for sport and providing basic amenities.