Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

Some governments consume (a) lot of citizen earned cash(public funds) for coaching individuals to be victorious in international sporting occasion. Some people think that this money should be used up on things that will be profitable for general public instead. I think government is doing the right thing to spend the hard-earned money for sport instead of lashing out the funds on things that will be benefits for general public only. In our country there are lot of good sport players and they are not able to play in international games. Though they are genuinely hard working and very talented sport persons, but due to some reasons they are lagging behind the ultimate selection position. I am not specifying a particular game, this is happening in almost every games. The reasons behind these lagging are no genuine facilities & trainings for players, lack of modern instruments, insufficient playgrounds for each sport, no proper diet etc. Apart from this, there is also one reason is popularity of game. For example, in our country in India, cricket is most popular game rather than other games. But if you go in rural villages, you will find lot of talented sport persons in other games. Unfortunately, due to proper training and lack of knowledge they are not able to get selected. For example, in my village I knew few good and talented sport persons who are good at boxing. Unluckily, due to lack of trainings and modern facilities they could not come out from the village. And this is one example only, you will find lot of skilled sport persons in each and every districts and states. In conclusion, I would say governments have taken the right decision for spending the public hard-earned money to train the individuals to be successful in international sporting event rather than simply wasting the money on things that will be beneficial for general public only.