Some governments spend a lot of money on exploring space. Some feel that this investment is justified while others think that money should be spent on public services like healthcare and education.

In the last century, billions of dollars have been spent on the exploration of the universe. Although some support this investment, others feel that this money is squandered and should instead be spent tackling Earth’s many problems such as public health and education. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I agree that the government should cease funding space programs. Those who advocate this state-funded research argue that the future of humankind may depend on such a discovery. If we found an earth-like planet nearby, for instance, they claim that our species could mine its resources or even colonise and potentially migrate there, once our own planet becomes uninhabitable. Indeed, projects are already underway investigating the feasibility of life on Mars, among other places. Thus, to these supporters, the government’s money is well-spent on exploring outer space as it could ultimately save us. Others, however, myself included, do not support this ongoing exploration. Indeed, in the last few decades, countries like the USA have spent over $100 billion sending astronauts, rovers and rockets out into the galaxy and the results have been negligible. If this money had been spent instead on improving literacy or sanitation in the third world, or on researching vaccines and treatments for deadly diseases, our lives would be much better than they currently are. Given that private businesses such as Tesla and Virgin are now pouring money into space research, governments no longer need to waste their money on this fruitless pursuit. In conclusion, humanity’s thirst for knowledge is unquenchable. It is time, however, for private corporations to invest, and for governments to take responsibility for their real duty here on earth.