Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely

The world today is more connected than ever before, because of this, accessing information and the sharing of data is easier than ever. While a number of people believe that certain pieces of information are too precious to divulge, others think that sharing information as freely as can be done safely, is the optimal strategy. After discussing why certain people think that the sharing of information could yield a positive outcome, I will demonstrate why I believe that some information cannot be shared liberally. There is an number of people that believe that the sharing of information should go unhindered and flow freely, because they esteem information should be a shared resource in order to pool our resources together in order to accomplish a common goal. For example, the sharing of studies dedicated to climate change is widespread, because this information is essential and must be viewed by all scientists worldwide in order to act with unity and decisiveness. As information such as this is essential, many view it as a common property which must be shared. Despite the fact that in some cases the sharing of information is the correct procedure, I believe that some information is simply too precious and must be kept private. As in certain cases information is essential for companies or even governments to retain their competitive advantage, and if they were forced to divulge this information it would cause more problems than solutions. For instance, in the case of Formula 1 car manufacturers, in a sport were every mini-second counts, each advancement they make is crucial to keep them competitive, because of this sharing of information for them would be simply impossible. Where some information can be shared, some data is just too valuable to be given away. To conclude, although the sharing of certain pieces of information is essential for proper development and maintenance of our world, if certain pieces cannot be kept secret I believe more harm would result than good.