Some governments spend a lot of money on exploring space. Some feel that this investment is justified while others think that money should be spent on public services like health care and education.

In recent years, governments are spending hefty amounts on space exploration. Although many say that this is an essential expenditure governments should bear, others feel that a government’s budget must be utilized for public’s basic requirements. In this essay further, both the views will be examined and explanation to agree with the ceasing of funds on space research will be provided. Those who advocate state-funded research argues that our future might be depended on such discoveries. In other words, if we could find resources on neighbouring planets, for instance, they claim that it is possible to potentially migrate and colonize when our planet becomes uninhabitable. Indeed, projects are already underway investigating planet- Mars. Thus, those you support these projects, they believe the money is well-spent. Others, myself included, do not support ongoing exploration, reason being that India has spent crores of rupees in the past decade, but despite such huge investment the result of projects were negligible. If the budget was spent on literacy and medicine, the infrastructure and facilities of schools and hospitals would improve. Moreover, since human thirst for knowledge is unquenchable, profitable private organizations like Tesla are now pouring money into outer space exploration, therefore governments no longer require for squander amount on fruitless pursuits. To conclude, currently while many people on earth are still struggling with issues such as diseases, lack of education and poverty, it is the government’s foremost responsibility to overcome these flaws in the system. On the other hand, the search in the universe can be carried out by private corporations.