Some feel that schools should be mixed with both girls and boys attending while others feel the genders ought to be separated.

It is undeniable that certain societies are in favour of the idea of single-sex schools, either for cultural or religious reasons. However, many countries have adopted a coeducational system over the last few years. Personally, I hold the view that mixed schools are a better learning environment for children. This essay will focus on the arguments of both sides. First of all, those who are of the opinion that genders should be segregated in schools may argue that the emotional liabilities of teenagers and adolescents will negatively affect their dedication to their studies. For example, recent studies have shown that females in coeducational institutes tend to have lower overall academic achievement than those in a separate gender institutes and vice versa. Nevertheless, I believe that mixed educational institutes are far more advantageous for youngsters. It is undisputable that a coeducational atmosphere can improve the interpersonal skills of students of both sexes as it can mimic to a reasonable degree normal daily life, this will in turn build healthy relationships between adults of either sex. Building these necessary social interactions from such a young age is vital because of the tremendous positive future implications it will have on a societal level. In conclusion, although a separate gender schools may be an appropriate idea for some societies, the necessity of a healthy communication between men and women is dismissed. For this reason, I once again reaffirm my position that both male and female students should learn in a coeducational system.