Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at the primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, in old days, children had to begin learning second language in the secondary school. But nowadays, the idea of introducing second language since in the primary school year is recommended by most educationalists. In my point of view, I firmly believe that this policy would appropriate and provide long-term gain. This policy has been also imposed in almost every country’s curricula in the world. There’s no doubt that children can pick up languages much more easier than teenagers. Unlike adolescents, they are not inhibited by self-consciousness, which facilitates acquiring another language. Young learners are enthusiastic to explore brand new things. Moreover, since the primary school timetable is considerably lighter as well as allow more spare time than secondary school timetable. Furthermore, learning new language is a new trend these days. There’s nothing to lose by learning another language in the primary school. Everyone already know that to be professional in a language, it takes a certain period of time. For that reason, it would be better if children have a chance to be able to keep in touch with another language since they’re in primary school. Children, especially in primary school, are the most suitable to inculcate the basic of the language. Hence, the primary school should pave the way to give attention to new language. On the other hand, there are some downsides. Firstly, primary school teachers are generalists and they may not have the proficient language sill themselves or they may not be well trained to teach a foreign language. Secondly, it would affect children’s ability to develop their mother tongue properly. Thirdly, the capacity of children’s brains are not same. As a result, some might get confused by different grammar patterns and pronunciation at the same time. All of all, in this day and age, a person who speak more language has a greater effect and opportunity in the work filed. So, fledgling children’s innate ability should be encouraged to make these profits more achievable.