Some people say that parents should places restrictions on the hours their children spend watching TV and playing computer games and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead.

Nowadays, many parents are worried about their child’s habits such as spending too much time on watching television or playing digital games on computer. They emphasize that children should read more books rather than watching a television show. In my opinion, older child should spend larger proportion of their leisure time for reading, whereas, younger ones should not be restricted as it could affect their upbringing. I will discuss both views in forthcoming paragraphs. In a long run, habit of reading books is extremely helpful for the kids, especially in the academics. It is evident that children with good reading skills perform much better than others at the school. Moreover, reading a book can leverage other skills such as communication or linguistic skills. Another advantage of reading book is that children become more creative as reading involves focus and imagination. A reader has the capability to imagine things that he or she reads which eventually leads to develop a creative mind. However, reading a book is not everyone’s cup of tea. Admittedly, many children do not find books as a source of an entertainment. It is difficult for young children to adopt books as a leisure activity. Therefore, parents should allow them some other activities such as playing games on computer or watching a television. What parents can do is that they should schedule these activities and should encourage their children to give some time of the day to reading any book. In conclusion, I firmly agree with the notion that children should devote their time to books. It is the parent’s duty to encourage them to read books and spend less time on computer or watching a television.