Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As a matter of fact, I believe that the earlier a child starts to begin learning a foreign language the better. Children have a very fresh brain and have the capability to absorb much more information compared with adults and even teenagers. I can give examples from my own experiences. First of all, I’ve lived abroad during my first ages and started to learn English. Actually, before I learned Turkish, I learned English After seven years living in Saudi Arabia and studying in American Kindergartens and a Primary School, my family decided to return to Turkey. When we moved back to Turkey, I continued my studies at a Turkish Primary School and started to learn Turkish rapidly. Therefore, this showed me how a child could learn a foreign language very quickly. For the following years, I did not have the opportunity to use my English as frequently as I could when I lived abroad. I only could practice English in my English lessons. However, when I started to work for a global multi-national company years later, I realized that I did not forget my English at all. This also showed me if you learn a language in your childhood, you never forget it. On the other hand, last year I decided to learn a second foreign language and started to take German lessons. I was attending a course which young pupils were involved. During those lessons I was quite shocked how fast those youngsters understood the lesson and how hard I was struggling. As a conclusion I definitely agree that the advantages of beginning to learn a foreign language at primary school outweighs the disadvantages.