Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

My friend the other day was complaining about her manager texted my friend on weekends. This kind of behaviour made me think whether contacting staff without limitations is correct. Although frequent interacting with employees contributes to corporations, in my opinion, this kind of conduct from employers brings more disadvantages. On the one hand, keeping interactions with staff in their leisure time results in detrimental impacts for individuals and corporations. Firstly, as employers can contact their employees with no restrictions, in order to avoid missing any crucial announcements, staff cannot turn off their work phones. Consequently, employees do not have ample time to enjoy personal life, which imbalances individuals’ personal and work life. Besides, once one manager is admissible to contact teammates with no boundaries, other team leaders who want employees to have additional workload will follow the same conducts. Therefore, there will be unhealthy company cultures cultivated in corporations. On the other hand, contacting employees benefits corporations’ competitiveness. Since managers can contact staff at any time, employees might be required to work when urgent situations occur. Meanwhile, once employees assure vital projects be accomplished efficiently and be finished in advance, companies can be more productive and be more competitive among peer corporations. In contrast, if businesses contact staff at any time, in a number of countries, this kind of behaviour will violate the labour law. For instance, in Canada, the government regulates that employees are not obligated to work in their spare time. In conclusion, despite keeping in control of employees without restrictions can benefit companies, there are more drawbacks for individuals and corporations.