People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

Nowadays, people are surrounded by a variety of sugar-based drinks which have a harmful effect on health. The essay will describe reasons why people regularly drink a lot of carbonated drinks and put forward solutions to reduce this consumption. To begin with, sugary drinks (also categorized as sugar-sweetened beverages) refer to any beverage with added sugar or other sweeteners. This includes soda, pop, cola, fruit punch, and sport energy drinks. The major reason that people prefer sweetener flavor and convenience, and in particular developing countries, sugary drink consumption is rising dramatically due to widespread urbanization and beverage marketing. The reason for decreasing drinking sugary drinks comes to health effect, sugary drinks fall at the bottom of ranking beverages best for health, because they provide so many calories and virtually no other nutrients. People who drink sugary beverages do not feel as full as if they had eaten the same calories from solid food, research indicates they also do not compensate for the high caloric content of these beverages by eating less food. Thus, their weight will gain, routinely drinking these sugar-loaded beverages can increase the risk of type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and other chronic diseases. When it comes to health, it is clear that sugary drinks should be avoided. People should replace sugar-loaded beverages with a range of healthier beverages that can be consumed in their place, with water being the top option. In the case of people who are frequent soda drinkers, sparkling water is better. If the taste is too bland, try a naturally flavored sparkling water, and if that is still too much of a jump, just add a splash of juice, sliced citrus, or even some fresh herbs. Another way is making home-brewed tea such as sparkling iced tea with lemon, cucumber, and mint. In conclusion, people should reduce their preference for sweet beverages because of the negative effect on health. Reducing consumption of sugary drinks will require concerted action on several levels – from individual consumers, creative food scientists, and marketers in the beverage industry.