Some employers think that academic qualifications are more important than social skills when they look for an employee. is it a positive or negative development?

Employers these days give more value to college or university degree than personal experience and social skills while recruiting an employee. This essay will look into the reasons that can be attributed to this phenomenon. In my opinion this a negative development. It is easy to see why employers stress on college or a university degree of candidate rather than social skills while hiring. Undoubtedly, academic qualifications are essential as degree can fetch you good pay. degree can assure an individual has acquired the necessary knowledge and suitable candidate for the required work. However, a degree doesn’t indicate in any way, how a person will function real world. Moreover, If Recruitment is focused on technical sills and expertise, then it results hiring with person having intellect to succeed but lack social skills required to work effectively. This results in interpersonal conflict and frustration and sometimes employee have to leave the job as employees are unable to handle growing social demands of leadership and so have to remain at lower level of job. Social skills are important as it reflects person’s ability to work with others, in a way strengthening the long-term work relationship with colleague. There are many personal traits such as creativity, honesty, adaptability, integrity and efforts, which are also important besides technical skills. No business can thrive if employees are qualified but lack social skills. To conclude, it is clear that why social skills should be given lot more importance in addition to qualification. Such skills are the key to success at work.