Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Employers are always seeking ways to enhance their employees’ productivity and subsiding healthy pursuits may be one way of achieving this. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here. On the other hand, it might be said that if workers are fitter and less stressed, their working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and service. Furthermore, the work/life balance of the staff will hopefully be improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. This may even be more motivating than pay increments, perks or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which may be hard to attain. Finally, felling healthier may lead to better job satisfaction which is in itself a motivation factor. Conversely, the problem with such leisure-based subsidies is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to qualify. For example, with target-related payments, employees can at least use whether the objectives are reached or not. It might also be said that, if this budget was spent on the job training or day release programmes, the employees would achieve better career progression and have better job prospects. These matters are all easier to measure, especially if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce. Overall, it seems that while health-related subsidies are superficially attractive, the lack of measurability is a substantial drawback. Spending funds on ongoing training would appear to be a better use of company or Human Resources budget.