Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

It is argued that there has been a rising trend in the usage of desktops and laptops in schools and universities. This essay will firstly discuss about the enormous amount of information readily available to students as the primary advantage and secondly, it will discuss about the lack of motivation and discipline provided by the computer which is considered as the main disadvantage. One of the dominant advantage of an increased technological usage in education is the access to huge information for students. They have the freedom to search for research materials, technological papers, artwork and much useful information which will be very helpful during their coursework. Technology plays a crucial role in providing multiple ideas for a single problem, this will help the students in developing their level of thinking. For example, in 2019 the Transportation Research Board stated that, the quality of research papers it received from the universities which had access to technology has predominant difference to those of colleges which are deprived of technology. The main disadvantage associated with the rising use of computers in education is the absence of motivation and discipline it brings along. Students tend to misuse the technology more often for non-academic purpose rather than for a beneficial cause. This will have a negative impact on student’s self-discipline and once they are attracted to technology for a non-academic purpose, such as games, this will be a daunting task to bring back their motivation towards academics. For example, a recent research on “negative effects of computer usage” showed that most of the students who didn’t have the overlook of their parents or teachers over their technology usage are those who misused the technology and hence there is a way this can be solved. To conclude, the benefits that technology brings to education, such as a wide variety of knowledge and information should be weighed against the drawbacks such as non-motivation towards academics. Overall in my opinion, the educational benefits outweigh the disadvantages because the educator or the mother and father can guard the student from misusing the technology.