Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A few employers believe that social skills are essential for a candidate who is applying for job, while some others believe that their educational qualifications are mandatory. I partially agree with this notion and I tend to believe that equal importance should be given to both the factors. To begin with, employers should consider candidate with high academic skills. Because, an applicant from a strong academic background with a deep technical and subject knowledge would be more efficient in their work and this consecutively makes them excel in their career. For instance, consider the subject knowledge of a university gold medalist and an average scoring student. A university topper’s performance in the job would outweigh the performance of an average student since the student with average marks would not be technically skilled. In addition to this, soft skills such as interaction, time management, planning, coordination, team management and other personal attributes should also be considered while offering a job to the candidate. Job seekers with great interpersonal skills could manage themselves to be highly productive in their job. Candidate with a better problem solving and decision-making skill would be an asset to the company, and this inevitably allows the organization to achieve its goal. To conclude, in line with the views presented above, it is evident that a company could be successful only if both academic qualification and interpersonal skills are taken into consideration while filling a position, and I reiterate that the same should be followed by hiring managers to bring up a successful business.