Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public places while some have no intention of doing this.

Some nations in recent times have banned tobacco smoking in the streets while some are not planning to do the same. This essay wîll discuss the ideas causing this dichotomy among countries and state my opinion. Perhaps the major reason why some countries have decided to place an embargo on tobacco consumption in public is due to its health hazards to the smokers themselves and to passive smokers. For instance, it is documented by a medical journal that 90 percent of lung cancers occur in passive smokers. Furthermore, tobacco smoking in open places can cause air pollution and increased susceptibility to fire-outbreaks which in turn can lead to loss of lives and properties. On the contrary, some countries have left the other side of this debate untouched because they believe in citizens being free to make thier choices. Some producing companies in such countries have decided to place the label 'smokers are liable to die young' on thier adverts, so that thier customers can make informed choices. Such countries may also take this position in order to preserve employments and also to sustain the producing company's economy. Otherwise, the later runs bankrupt and the former are lost. For instance, in countries like Sweden where tobacco smoking was banned, a reduction of about 20 percent per annum was observed in the country's income, this translates to a major loss. Therefore, it will be logical to say that in as much as smoking of tobacco in social places has deleterious effects such as respiratory diseases, environmental pollution, higher incidents of fire explosion, l will like to take sides with countries that has remained silent on this issue because restriction will impact negatively on the country's economy and will also culminate in the breech of human freedom.