Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is it? Is this the best method to solve traffic congestion?

Nowadays, more and more developing countries are promoting the use of bicycles. Government officials provide and spend a huge amount of money to motivate people to utilize this strategy. Using a bike is very beneficial to all. Some of the reasons are that it is eco-friendly and helps maintain good health. It also supports the idea thay it is the most effective method to solve heavy traffic. There are consequently many reasons why some nations choose to promote bicycles. One of the main advantages is that cycling is good for the environment and it does not make use of much of nature. A bicycle is operated manually or electronically, so fuel is not needed. This two-wheeled vehicle will not produce the toxic carbon dioxide that cars do, which contributes to air pollution. In addition, this strategy is useful in maintaining a healthy lifestyle to prevent diseases such as hypertension, heart problems, hyperlipidemia, and many more. When someone uses a bicycle, he or she is burning calories, thus reducing body fat levels. Cycling is always fun and enjoyable, which decreases stress. For example, research done by the WHO shows that 9 out of 10 people who ride a bike say that it helps them to become happier, more energetic, and more productive. They do not feel easily exhausted, burned-out, and unproductive. Furthermore, the government saw great potential in cycling. The bicycle lessens traffic congestion because it does not occupy a lot of space, unlike the four-wheeled car, hence solving the overcrowding and parking problems. Cycling can reduce the number of cars on the roads, and decrease the travel time of other road users. For instance, in New York, after building different bike lanes, travel time at peak hours decreased. In conclusion, more countries should take initiatives to encourage their people to adapt to this method as it helps traffic jams and improve people's health and community. It also has a significant positive impact on the ecosystem.